

SAN DIEGO UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION TUESDAY, MAY 3, 2011 2475 GRAND AVENUE SAN DIEGO, CALIFORNIA 92109

MINUTES

A special meeting of the Board of Education of the San Diego Unified School District, County of San Diego, California, was held at Mission Bay High School, 2475 Grand Avenue, San Diego, California on May 3, 2011.

Present: Members Barnett, Barrera, Beiser, Evans, Jackson,

Absent: None

President Barrera called the special meeting to order with all members present.

Future Educator Scholars Future Educator Scholarships were presented to senior high students Karissa Hendricks, Christina Conley, Ashley Leslie, Henry High School, Jennifer Valle, Crawford High School, Dave Fillion, CTA, Kearny High School, Edith Hernandez, SCT, Kearny High School, Diana Garcia, Elizabeth Sanchez Alvarez, Point Loma High School, Karyn Coronel, Morse High School, Josie Gonzales, the Preuss School UCSD.

Mashin Scholarships were presented to Van Anh Pham, Ngoc Lam, Kearny International Business, Jhanell Kirkaldy, Crawford High School, MVAS, Rhona Sabatchi, San Diego School of Creative & Performing Arts.

National Board

The following teachers were recognized for recently receiving National Board Certification or recertification: Mark Alcorn, Lee Elementary, Marylou Baranowski, Caye Baxter, Lindbergh Schweitzer Elementary, Brenna Baringer, Physical Education and Health, Joan Boyle, La Jolla Elementary, Pamela Hashimoto, Marston Middle, Yennhi Mai, Crown Point Elementary, Theodore Meckstroth, Bell Middle, Grace Nall, Walker Elementary, Kelly O'Brien, Fay Elementary, Gail Owashi, Mason Elementary, Stephanie Rico, San Diego High LEADS, Amy Satter, Garfield Elementary, Gerald Sison, Bell Middle, Adina Sobo, Morse High, Teri Trickey, Cesar Chavez Elementary, Linda Webb, Birney Elementary, and Kristine Weiner, Sandburg Elementary.

Day of the Teacher

Resolution in the Matter of the Recognition of May 5, 2009, as San Diego Unified School District Day of the Teacher (Attachment A04))

Motion by member Evans, seconded by member Jackson to adopt the resolution recognizing May 3, 2011 as Day of the Teacher was approved unanimously.

The Board recognized school site Teachers of the Year. The following Teacher of the Year Runners-Up were announced, Gay Young, Kumeyaay Elementary School, Britney Sandoval, Lewis Middle School, and David Evers, San Diego High School of International Studies.

Minutes, Board of Education May 3, 2011 Page 2

The 2011 Elementary Level Teacher of the Year is Mark Alcorn, Lee Elementary School; 2011 Middle Level Teacher of the Year is Jean Ghalupsky, Marshall Middle School; and High School Level 2010 Teacher of Year, Jonathan Winn, School of Community Health & Medical Practices (CHAMPS), Crawford Educational Complex.

ADJOURNMENT

President Barrera adjourned the meeting at 6:45 p.m.	The next regular meeting of the Board of Education
will be held on Tuesday, May 10, 2011 in the Eugene	e Brucker Education Center, 4100 Normal Street, at
2:00 p.m., closed session and 5:00 p.m., open (public) session.

Board Action Officer	