School Site Council

The School Site Council (SSC)


The School Site Council (SSC) is a decision-making group that provides oversight on matters dealing with Federal and State funded programs. Their primary role is to oversee the academic planning process to ensure that the needs of all students are specifically addressed in the Single Plan for Student Achievement (SPSA). The SSC is required at all schools in the San Diego Unified School District.


School Site Councils are comprised of parents, community members, staff, and students at secondary schools, who are selected by each of their constituent groups.

At the elementary level, the minimum number of members is ten. The elementary SSC is comprised of half parents and community members; and half school personnel, with classroom teachers as the majority, and one "other" staff member (not a classroom teacher).

The principal is an ex-officio member of the SSC. A School Site Council may have more members, as long as the correct configuration for elementary or secondary schools is maintained.

Education Code 52852 requires SSC minimal configuration as follows:

Elementary Schools
Elementary Model - Minimum of ten (10) members

elementary model


School Site Councils provide oversight of the academic planning and budgeting process associated with the Single Plan for Student Achievement (SPSA) in order to meet the needs of all students. SSCs provide meaningful consultation with the principal to oversee the implementation, monitoring, and revision of the SPSA, including reviewing and analyzing data; consulting with advisory groups; evaluating programs and activities; and allocating the expenditure of funds available to the school through categorical programs.

District Link

Bird Rock Elementary

Meetings are scheduled:

Meetings may be cancelled at the committees discretion.

Time: 7:45 am - 8:25 am.

Principal: Dr. Eric Banatao 

Certificated: Kristi Nelson, Dana Lally, Dana Marquardt

Classified: Erin Garcia

Parents: Mark DiTommaso, Jennifer Giaconni, Lorene Lacava, Arthi Balu, Jaimme Jones

Nomination Form

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.